The PST shift in IST is rough
Yesterday was my first taste of the PST shift in the India time zone. For those of you who don't know the time difference, we are 12.5 hrs ahead of you in Vancouver. So when an 8 am shift starts in Vancouver it is 8:30 pm here and we work until 5:30 am. This my friends; is rough. I go to work when it is dark and I come home when the sun is rising.
The really cool thing about this is that I get to see how people in India start their day. I'm not talking about the middle class people. I'm talking about the poor people who live on the sides of the road in shanty shacks. So far I've seen people relieving themselves, getting their clothes ready, collecting water, carrying things on their head, etc. I will bring my camera tomorrow and take some "snaps" of all the happenings.
The other nice thing about coming back to the hotel at 6:30 am is that we get the buffet breakfast FRESH! I used to think the croissants were hard as a rock just because they came from all over the world. It turns out they are quite soft and tasty first thing at 7 am.
Only one and a half more shifts of this then I am off to Ealing. When I'm there I'll be working a normal shift, I hope.
Cheers


0 Comments:
Post a Comment
<< Home